Alexander Sitkovetsky and Wu Qian

Alexander Sitkovetsky and Wu Qian

Yehudi Menuhin School alumni Alexander Sitkovetsky and Wu Qian open the Spring/Summer 2022 season with a recital of music by Stravinsky, Beethoven and Franck. Often heard performing together with cellist Isang Elders as part of the acclaimed Sitkovetsky Trio, both Sitkovetsky and Qian have forged careers as chamber musicians, appearing frequently on famous stages across the world. Tonight they perform two dramatic sonatas for violin and piano. The evening will begin with a glimpse into what would become Stravinsky’s neo-classical period – the Suite Italienne, based on his 1920 ballet, Pulcinella. This will be followed by the intense emotional conflict of Beethoven’s Sonata No 7, written in 1803. It is a story of joy and light trying to break through the anger and darkness that the composer felt at his worsening deafness. In contrast to Beethoven’s prolific chamber music output, Franck wrote just one violin sonata. It is a graceful, lyrical work composed as a wedding gift for the Belgian violinist Eugène Ysaÿe.


20 January 2022



Standard Price:

£20 to £32

Running time:

90 minutes

Or call the box office:

01932 559400

Please note:
The Box Office is open for telephone bookings Monday to Friday 10am - 3pm (lunch 12.30 -1pm)