Anthony Marwood and Aleksandar Madžar

Anthony Marwood and Aleksandar Madžar

In great demand as a soloist and chamber musician, Anthony Marwood is known worldwide as an artist of exceptional expressive force. He champions new works written for him by Thomas Adès, Sally Beamish and Samuel Adams. Anthony was appointed an MBE in the Queen’s 2018 New Year’s Honours List for services for classical music. Marwood is joined by celebrated Serbian pianist Madžar, and together they take us on a journey spanning a hundred years of the life of the sonata for violin and piano. The sonatas performed tonight offer us a unique view of how key European cultural traditions expressed themselves through this musical medium, revealing national aesthetic qualities and personal interpretations. Schubert Sonatina in D D384 / Elgar Violin Sonata / Debussy Violin Sonata / Prokofiev Violin Sonata no 2 in D Op 94


23 May 2019



Standard Price:


Running time:

120 minutes

Or call the box office:

08700 842020

Please note:
The Box Office is open for telephone bookings Monday to Friday 10am - 3pm, except Wednesday 10am - 12.30pm.Closed for lunch 12.30-1.00pm daily.
The Box Office will be open one hour before each concert commences.