Kevin Loh and Maxim Calver

Kevin Loh and Maxim Calver

They may still be studying at university and music college but former YMS pupils Kevin Loh and Maxim Calver are already making their marks on the music world with a host of awards, competition successes and solo engagements at prestigious venues. Guitarist Kevin Loh opens the concert with Bach’s Lute Suite No 1. A youthful piece, written early in Bach’s career, it alternates between the lazy languor of a sunny afternoon and the energetic dance-rhythms of an evening soirée. It is followed later in the concert by Lennox Berkeley’s contemplative, Debussy-esque Guitar Sonatina and Graham Fitkin’s mesmerising Skirting. BBC Young Musician 2018 finalist Maxim Calver is joined on stage by pianist Kumi Matsuo for Shostakovich’s Cello Sonata. The four movements of this early Shostakovich piece take us from romantic turmoil to a brief but breathtaking fairground ride of a finale via the bleak, icy Russian landscapes that would become a feature of his later works. This is followed by Schumann’s Fantasiestücke, a set of three beautiful, Romantic miniatures each with its own distinct emotional character. For the finale of the concert the two musicians perform together in an arrangement of three Schubert Lieder. The gentle and meditative Du bist die Ruh and Nacht und Traume frame the shimmering, watery textures of Liebesbothschaft.


10 February 2022



Standard Price:

£17 to £28

Running time:

90 minutes

Or call the box office:

01932 559400

Please note:
The Box Office is open for telephone bookings Monday to Friday 10am - 3pm (lunch 12.30 -1pm)